Week 33: Wednesday – Notes of a Traveller

AnonymousQuote7

“Believe the truth, not the apocalypse in your mind.”

“As for me, You uphold me in my integrity, and You set me in Your presence forever.” – Psalm 42:12

Air Pockets

I don’t know about you, but I always expect our plane to encounter air pockets during flights. That way I’ll be more ready for the sudden jolts and dives that usually send terrified folks scampering for the litter bags and life jackets, while others, pretending to be asleep, quietly review where the exit doors are located. I think expecting the drops and bumps is better than being caught unawares and ending up screaming and grabbing somebody’s shirt or arm.

One flight I was seated next to a big guy, a rugby player. With him in the middle, I was pushed against wall of the plane, almost disappearing from plain view. I was worried the attendant wouldn’t see me as she passed by with the coffee I needed so much. As soundless as a boulder of rock, he just sat there, with a stern look on his face (like he was ready to tackle someone; probably me, if I pushed him out of the way?). So to save my life, I, too, sat as motionless and as soundless as I could, lest I disrupt his moment of deep thought.

After the take off, a BIG JOLT sent the airplane rocking a little bit more than usual. OH WOW! THAT WAS SCARY! (But I was calm, remember?). Then came the stomach-churning DROP (whoooooooo….!) ALL IN A SPLIT SECOND!

Man, was I startled! Not by the plane, but by Mr. Rocky Balboa’s panicked grabbing of the tray table, face all white, mouth opened (did I see sweat in his thick eyebrows?) Boy, the poor guy was really shaken up. And when the plane calmed down a bit, he turned to me and smiled sheepishly. In my mind, I was clicking my tongue… Oh, brother. All that muscle and brawn didn’t help you weather a few bumps, huh? I just smiled back, with an “it’s-alright” face.

I’ve got a question for you. Have you been really scared of something that you thought would happen, and you made sure to do all the praying and begging  you felt would ensure it won’t happen? You tremble at the thought of that future. where the boogey man is supposed to be hiding. And because you can be so creative, you start to envision a life of misery, of utter failure, with you as the pitiful main character in a tragic film you so masterfully crafted in your mind. And instead of risking and dreaming to expend all your potential, you go about like a doomsday prepper, dodging off an imaginary comet speeding to earth, falling right into your backyard (it just had to be your backyard, right?)

The Bible tells us that WALKERS OF THE LIGHT need not be fearful. Read this: 

As for me, You uphold me in my integrity,

And You set me in Your presence forever.

Psalm 42:12

Calm your nerves. GOD IS NOT PLANNING A MISERABLE FUTURE FOR YOU. How could we conceive such a totally ridiculous (and blasphemous!) thought! But that’s what we are. We tend to believe lies because God’s promises seem too good to be true.  IT IS NOT, AND HAS NEVER BEEN, AND WILL NEVER EVER BE in His mind to prepare a lame life for you. It is NOT IN HIS CHARACTER!

What’s truly scary about our secret fears is that they can sometimes drive us to take stupid steps that lead to our downfall. Believe the truth, not the apocalypse in your mind. THE FUTURE IS BRIGHT FOR YOU, so much brighter than you could ever imagine.

With Him as the Pilot, no matter how many airpockets there are, you can have a safe and comfortable flight, first-class, all expenses paid… Now stop screaming.

Leave a Reply

