Week 33: Thursday – Notes of a Traveller

AnonymousQuote8

Trade your shallow attachments for what he has so excitedly prepared for you.

“During the forty years that I led you through the wilderness, your clothes did not wear out, nor did the sandals on your feet.” – Deuteronomy 29:5

Walking Shoes

I left my job, my family, and my personal plans when the Lord called me to take on His dreams instead. But you, gorgeous reader, might be meant to excel in the secular world. I wasn’t. But from Day One, it has been nothing but story after story of His care, proving that it really doesn’t matter where or how… All that matters is where He is. And that’s gonna be your rest. There lies the BEST you can ever be.

It happened in one of my stints in some of the most peculiar places on earth. No, it hasn’t been featured in the National Geographic Channel…yet. But you get the picture. Those are places where you find yourself either taking cover from flying bullets, or fleeing from bandits. These are places where it gets so quiet that you sometimes need to talk out loud just to check if your eardrums are still working; small towns where you will know what real DARKNESS looks like; interesting places where you learn to eat something you just killed yourself. Dismembered yourself. And cooked yourself. But it’s exciting! For the young, it would have been the quintessential adventure you see in reality shows, were it not for the HEART-RENDING and HUMBLING lessons from the Journey Master. And they are usually plenty… and frequent.

I was shopping for a pair of walking shoes. A hole was starting to show in my shoe, so a pair was badly needed. I was praying for something tough enough for all the dirt road walking I did. When I got to the shoe shop, I went about happily trying on this, that, and so on, thanking God for another story of His generous provision to me. Finally, I picked a pair and told the sales lady that I was going to wear them right then and there, and asked for a trash bin for the old ones I was wearing. She went quiet, and then spoke in a really low voice. “Can I have them instead? I can still repair them and they look like my size.” When I looked at the ones she had, they had stitches all over. To this day, my only regret is that I was too taken aback it didn’t occur to me to buy her a new pair. I was young and unperceptive. I stood there speechless. It brought to mind a truly humbling realization from His Word:

“During the forty years that I led you through the wilderness,

your clothes did not wear out, nor did the sandals on your feet.”

– Deuteronomy 29:5

That was a moment so sobering. Another assurance–with an exclamation point– for a faithless person like me, who always demanded proof. God had been there all along!  Indeed, the moment YOU GIVE UP YOUR ISAAC AT THE ALTAR, God becomes your JEHOVAH JIREH, the GOD PROVIDER.

You want Him to show how He provides? Take on that road right to Moriah. TRADE YOUR SHALLOW ATTACHMENTS FOR WHAT HE HAS SO EXCITEDLY PREPARED FOR YOU. No giving up in abandon, no revelation of His provision. Show Him you trust Him. Watch.

He won’t let you down. And that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

