Week 44: Wednesday – Great Light (Part 1)

Image

Light is above us, and color around us; but if we have not light and color in our eyes, we shall not perceive them outside us. – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-832)

I am the light of the world; whoever follows Me will never walk in darkness but will have the light which gives life. John 8:12

One of the indispensable elements of photography is great lighting. But unlike other fields of photography, the usual kind of lighting landscape photography needs cannot be produced artificially. You have to depend on the quality of light that the sun will emit.

Kansilad Sunset

So the first thing you must do is a term I have read in one of the landscape photography magazines called, Chasing Light. You have to chase the light. Chasing the light means going to a certain place, a spot, or a vantage point view wherein you can catch a good lighting, may it be in front of a hill, behind it, in front of a seashore or at the side of it. If you are in the wrong place, you will never get the best image possible, since a hill, a mountain, or even a big tree might be covering the light. You must chase the light. Because great light makes great images.

The truth is, all of us are engaged in some kind of chasing. Some chase popularity. Some chase pleasure. Some chase money. But do they produce great images? I mean, do they make our lives great and meaningful? Maybe we can recall some of the post-processing conclusions of well-known, respected, tycoons with great images of yesteryears.

I have made many millions, but they have brought me no happiness (John W. Rockefeller)

The care of $200,000,000 is enough to kill anyone. There is no pleasure in it (W.H. Vanderbilt)

I am the most miserable man on earth (John Jacob Astor)

I was happier when doing a mechanic’s job (Henry Ford)

Millionaires seldom smile (Andrew Carnegie)

Indeed, what Jesus said is so true: A man s life does not consist in the abundance of things he possesses.

I am not saying that getting wealthy and successful is wrong. I am just saying that this is not the ultimate chase of life. If God gives us success and wealth because of the right chase, then so be it. Use it to benefit others. But in the end, the Great Light that makes our life so great is none other than God. No one else. Nothing else.

So, you need something at the center of your life that is absolutely unchanging and secure. You need something that really satisfies the soul. I was reminded by these lyrics:

Looking back on all that You have done for me

You led me through green pastures

When I my eyes just couldn’t see

Never was a time when I was all alone

Your hand was there to guide

To You my path is known

Whether through a valley or a mountain steep

Your Word is a stronghold

And a lamp unto my feet

When I am confused and don’t know where to stand

The Shepherd of love

Is there to lead His lamb

Lord, You are my light

Guiding me safely through the darkest night

Lord, You are my light

Knowing You hold me in Your arms so tight

I know everything’s all right

The future is so bright

Cause Lord You are my light

Lord, sometimes You lead me through the rain and snow

But thank You for the winter

Cause I know it makes me grow

Only in the dark I fully understand

That I am not enough

I know I need your help

Lord, You are my light

Guiding me safely through the darkest night

Lord, You are my light

Knowing You hold me in Your arms so tight

I know everything’s all right

The future is so bright

Cause Lord You are my light

Chasing the Great Light,  the Light of the World, the only light we must chase. It satisfies us, guides us, encourages us in this short life. Keep chasing the Light. Great light makes great images. Only the Great Light can make great lives.

One comment

Leave a Reply

