Week 47: Wednesday

WEEK 47 : WEDNESDAY

“EACH DAY OF OUR LIVES
WE MAKE DEPOSITS IN THE MEMORY BANKS OF OUR CHILDREN.”
– Charles (Chuck) Swindoll

Proverbs 22:6 (The Message)
6 Point your kids in the right direction—
when they’re old they won’t be lost.
 

“ROCKED INTO THE WAITING ARMS OF ‘GOD’”

From his days on the pediatric staff of USC Medical Center in Los Angeles, DR. JAMES DOBSON tells the story of a five-year old boy dying of lung cancer.

Many parents of terminally ill children can’t handle the pressure and grief and, consequently, let the children die alone. But this little boy’s mother came to his hospital room every day, holding him, rocking, loving him.

One night, after the mother had gone home, the nurses heard the child talking in his room, saying over and over, “I hear the bells! I hear the bells! They’re ringing!” They assumed he was hallucinating and told his mother the next morning.

“He was not hallucinating,” she replied. “Weeks ago, I told my boy that when the pain got so bad that he couldn’t breathe, he’d soon be going to heaven to be with Jesus. And when that pain got too bad, he was to look up toward heaven and listen for the bells. They’d be ringing. They’d be ringing for him.”

With that, she turned into his room, gathered her son in her arms, and rocked him into the waiting arms of God.

WHAT A PICTURE OF PEACE. THAT MOTHER AND SON COULD FACE DEATH BECAUSE THEY HAD SECURITY IN ‘JESUS CHRIST’. THEY HAD ACCEPTED ‘HIS’ PLAN.

Chuck Swindoll once said, “Each day of our lives we make deposits in the memory banks of our children.” As parents, we not only prepare our children for the future by teaching them how to live…but also by teaching them HOW TO DIE.

I gave you life but I cannot live it for you.
I can teach you things but I cannot make you learn.
I can give you directions but I cannot always be there to lead you.
I can allow you freedom but I cannot account for it.
I can take you to church but I cannot make you believe.
I can teach you right from wrong but I can’t always decide for you.
I can buy you beautiful clothes but I cannot make you lovely inside.
I can offer you advice but I cannot accept it for you.
I can give you love but I cannot force it upon you.
I can teach you to be a friend but I cannot make you one.
I can teach you to share but I cannot make you unselfish.
I can teach you respect but I can’t force you to show honor.
I can grieve about your report card but I cannot doubt your teachers.
I can advise you about friends but I cannot choose them for you.
I can teach you about sex but I cannot keep you pure.
I can tell you the facts of life but I can’t build your reputation.
I can tell you about drink but I can’t say NO for you.
I can warn you about drugs but I can’t prevent you from using them.
I can tell you about lofty goals, but I can’t achieve them for you.
I can teach you kindness, but I can’t force you to be gracious.
I can warn you about sins but I cannot make your morals
I can love you as a daughter or son but I cannot place you in God’s Family.
I can pray for you but I cannot make you walk with God.
I can teach you about Jesus but I cannot make HIM your Savior.
I can teach you to OBEY but I cannot make ‘JESUS’ Your Lord.
I can tell you how to live but I cannot give you Eternal Life.

Source Unknown.

Leave a Reply

