Week 50: Tuesday – Gaining in Losing

AnonymousQuote10.2

Verse: Job 42:2-5

“I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted. You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’

Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.

“You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’

My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.”

Quote:

Don’t let something that doesn’t matter make you lose something that does.  -Anonymous

One of the greatest questions people asks when they lose someone or something is the question, “Why?”

Again in the recent super typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda) that came to visit our country, this is how some people responded.

He is surely not the only one asking, a lot of people ask this question whenever something happens to them that they don’t understand. But I’d like us to see something in the story of Job who had experienced so much loss in just one day, despite the loss of his children, the loss of his possessions and properties, here’s how he responded.

Job 1:20-21

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.”

The best response of Job was…

In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing. (Job 1:22)

After this, the misery in his life didn’t stop, he continued to experience loss—his health and his wife’s faith in God.

Job 2:9

His wife said to him, “Are you still holding on to your integrity? Curse God and die!”

But Job again had this wonderful reply,

Job 2:10

He replied, “You are talking like a foolish woman. Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?”

The author of the book said,

…In all this, Job did not sin in what he said.

But later in the story we would see that in the greatness of his misery somehow Job seemed to ask the same question, “Why?”

Job 2:11ff

“Why did I not perish at birth, and die as I came from the womb?

Why were there knees to receive me and breasts that I might be nursed?

Why is light given to those in misery, and life to the bitter of soul, to those who long for death that does not come, who search for it more than for hidden treasure, who are filled with gladness and rejoice when they reach the grave?

Why is life given to a man whose way is hidden, whom God has hedged in?

For sighing comes to me instead of food; my groans pour out like water.

What I feared has come upon me; what I dreaded has happened to me.

I have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil.”

Job did not ask why he experienced loss or those miseries but why is he still alive for in the greatness of his misery it is better to die than to live. So the righteous and the blameless, as God described Job, was not exempted in becoming overwhelmed enough to ask such a question.

Nothing is wrong in asking “Why?” but for those who seek the answer, the best attitude is the readiness to accept God’s reply.

For in the book of Job God did not answer Job’s question by giving him the reasons to what happened. Instead God revealed to him His greatness and Job’s limitations that even if God shows the answers, Job may not be able to understand at all. In the end Job was able to realize these things.

Job 42:1-5

Then Job replied to the LORD:

“I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted.

You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’

Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.

“You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’

My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.

There are things in this world that need not an answer, when we find that God is enough.

The greatest gain of Job is not just hearing God, but in seeing God and realizing that God is enough to face all the miseries and losses in this world. God is enough reason for us to be thankful. God is enough reason for us to worship Him. God is enough to be grateful and continue fighting until the end. God is enough to continue living. God is enough in our lives.

For the truth is…

“He who has God and everything else has no more than he who has God only.”

― C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

And when you are in a moment like Job here’s a poem that could help you see a better perspective.

GOD’S HANDS

” Sometimes we must be hurt in order to grow,
We must fail in order to know,
We must lose in order to gain,
Some lessons are learned best only through pain.
Sometimes our vision clears,
Only after our eyes are washed with tears.
Sometimes we have to be broken,
So we can be tender;
Sick, so we can rest and think better
On things more important than work or fun;
Trip near death, so we can assess how we’ve ran.
Sometimes we have to suffer lack,
So we can know God’s provisions.
Feel another’s pain,
So we can have a sense of mission.
So take heart my friend,
If you don’t understand today,
Instead of grumbling, ask God what he means to say
In order to learn, you must endure
And learn to see the bigger picture
In order to grow, you must stand
Look beyond the hurt, to God’s loving hands
That takes what is good
And give what is best
And on this blessed thought : REST
As your anxious heart, with questions : WAIT
God’s hand only gives, what his loving heart dictates.”

Leave a Reply

