Week 53: Monday – Just Do What You Have to do & Serve God Best

Image

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps” – Proverbs 16:9 NIV

A sociological study was made in which 50 people over the age of 95 were asked one question: “If you could live your life over again, what would you do differently?” It was an open-ended question, and the top 3 answers that came from these eldest of senior citizens are:

a.         If I had to do it over again, I would reflect more.

b.         If I had to do it over again, I would risk more.

c.         If I had to do it over again, I would do more things that would live on after I am dead.

I’ve been serving the Lord in the ministry full time for 10 years and it has been a very fulfilling life despite the difficulties. There’s no sweeter place than to be in the center of God’s will. But I’ve never felt more fulfilled than when I was given the privilege to join the 2nd batch who joined the #HoisttheSails AngatLahi team.  This is the team that was formed to help our disaster-stricken brothers in Eastern Visayas because of storm Yolanda/Haiyan. During the brewing stage of this project, we were asked who were interested to join the team. I did not raise my hand then because I wanted to seriously think about it first and make sure that my heart was right. I was also doubtful of myself because I didn’t know if I could handle such devastation. The worst tragedy in my life (falling into a dirty canal in my Sunday dress in grade 6 – more embarrassing than tragic, really) does not compare to the tragedy brought by Yolanda. I wanted to pray about it first. I begged for the chance and said, “Lord, make me worthy to join the trip. I want to go to serve & be a bringer of faith, hope & love, but I also want to be changed, molded and strengthened by the trip. I want to learn. I want to go deeper in my understanding of ministry and love. Dry me up of all my tears so I won’t shed a tear of weakness in Tacloban Turn my tears and pity into faith with feet.” Then I texted our Senior Pastor about my prayer. And he replied: “Let’s ask the Lord to show us what to do.” I continued to ask and wait.

The first batch for #Hoist the Sails was sent and their stories were unbelievable. The images were unimaginable. Then I received a text to join a meeting on #HoisttheSails. I did not know what to expect and I did not assume anything. I just went through the motions and flowed in the meeting. I did not want to believe until I received my plane ticket. I prepared my stuff for the trip – citronella bracelet (let’s volt in!), SFH whey protein sachets, supplements, wipes, etc. – and I packed light as advised. But the most important preparation was to just keep praying. This trip meant so much to me as I faced the next chapter of my life’s purpose and I wanted to make the most of it…

Before joining my one and only Village (BOL), I planned my own selfish and meaningless course for 22 years. I was purposeless, directionless, visionless, soul-less. I was way ahead of the Walking Dead. At 22, I felt so tired and so old. I did nothing that would live on after I’m “dead” until I came to my “dead” end. At 22, I had my turning point and I finally let the Lord establish His steps for me. I had to learn to wait and understand that discovering your calling isn’t a one-time-big-time thing but it’s a daily process of molding, deepening, and knowing more about our Creator. I’m 36 now and I’ve never been happier. In my book, Tacloban was a new chapter for me and I was ready once again to let the Lord write the new pages of my life…

If you haven’t discovered the reason for your existence – wait.

If you have – stay.

If you’re still unsure – pray.

Besides, our real mission is not to know our mission but to know our Master.

Leave a Reply

