WEEK 12: THURSDAY

Week12_Day4

Romans 5:3-4 Living Bible (TLB)

3 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they are good for us—they help us learn to be patient. 4 And patience develops strength of character in us and helps us trust God more each time we use it until finally our hope and faith are strong and steady.

It is tempting to be at our best for the purpose of wanting to be noticed. But Andrew Murray said it correctly, “The humble man feels no jealousy or envy. He can praise God when others are preferred and blessed before him. He can bear to hear others praised while he is forgotten because … he has received the spirit of Jesus, who pleased not Himself, and who sought not His own honor. Therefore, in putting on the Lord Jesus Christ he has put on the heart of compassion, kindness, meekness, longsuffering, and humility.”

This song by Laura Story reminds us to keep on holding on to His grace. For it is not by our power and might but by His grace alone that we can continue.

My heart is so proud. My mind is so unfocused.
I see the things You do through me as great things I have done.
And now You gently break me, then lovingly You take me
And hold me as my father and mold me as my maker.

I ask you: “How many times will you pick me up, 
When I keep on letting you down?
And each time I will fall short of Your glory, 
How far will forgiveness abound?”
And You answer: ” My child, I love you.
And as long as you’re seeking My face, 
You’ll walk in the power of My daily sufficient grace.”

At times I may grow weak and feel a bit discouraged, 
Knowing that someone, somewhere could do a better job.
For who am I to serve You? I know I don’t deserve You.
And that’s the part that burns in my heart and keeps me hanging on.

As I walk with You, I’m learning what Your grace really means.
The price that I could never pay was paid at Calvary.
So, instead of trying to repay You, I’m learning to simply obey You
By giving up my life to you For all that You’ve given to me.

 

Leave a Reply

