WEEK 14 : WEDNESDAY (LOVE RULES)

WEEK 14 : WEDNESDAY (LOVE RULES)

LOVE DOES NOT BOAST. LOVE IS NOT PROUD.

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud” – 1 Corinthians 13:4 (NLT)

“The true way to be humble is not to stoop until you are smaller than yourself, but to stand at your real height against some higher nature that will show you what the real smallness of your greatness is.”
— Phillip Brooks

A young woman asked for an appointment with her pastor to talk with him about a besetting sin about which she was worried. When she saw him, she said, “Pastor, I have become aware of a sin in my life which I cannot control. Every time I am at church I begin to look around at the other women, and I realize that I am the prettiest one in the whole congregation. None of the others can compare with my beauty. What can I do about this sin?”

The pastor replied, “Mary, that’s not a sin…that’s just a mistake!”

Pride makes us self-absorbed. It makes us think the world revolves around us. We want people to notice us and the good we’ve done.
“I did that.”
“I thought of that.”
“I sacrificed for that.”

It feels good to be recognized and told that you’re creative and brilliant but this can lead to pride. I heard somewhere: treat both compliments and insults like bubble gum – chew it, take in the flavor, learn what you can, then spit it out. Pride makes us un-teachable and un-correctible. We think nothing’s wrong with us. It makes us full of ourselves and so it makes us incapable of thinking about and loving others.

I WONDER
You know, Lord, how I serve You
With great emotional fervor
In the limelight.
You know how eagerly I speak for You
At a women’s club.
You know how I effervesce when I promote
A fellowship group.
You know my genuine enthusiasm
At a Bible study.
But how would I react, I wonder
If you pointed to a basin of water
And asked me to wash the calloused feet
Of a bent and wrinkled old woman
Day after day
Month after month
In a room where nobody saw
And nobody knew.
— Ruth Harms Calkin

Every time I think I’m so good and I want others to notice, I just think – “So what if they find out I did that..that it was my idea? They’re going to forget it in 10 seconds and start thinking what they want to eat for lunch! What matters is God knows. What matters is that my heart is right before God. What matters is that everything is all by the grace of God.”

No heart is too proud that God cannot soften…
No eye is too blind that God cannot open…
No mind is too closed that God cannot reach…
No man is too boastful that God cannot teach.

Humility and a passion for praise are a pair of characteristics which together indicate growth in grace. The Bible is full of self-humbling (man bowing down before God) and doxology (man giving praise to God). The healthy heart is one that bows down in humility and rises in praise and adoration…Cultivate humility and a passion for praise if you want to grow in grace.
— James Packer

1 Corinthians 1:31
“If you want to boast, boast only about the Lord.”

Leave a Reply

