Week 15: Friday – The Great I am

Image

 

The Great I AM:
“I Am Who I Am”
Psalm 9:10
“And those who know your name put their trust in you.”
In Shakespeare’s Hamlet he asked, “What’s in a name?” as if a person’s given name is wholly unimportant. A name can be significant in knowing about someone’s history and identity. Have you ever asked your parents how they came up with your name? Did you ever search your name on the Web and see what it means?
Even the names that we see in the scripture were not given by accident rather it had meaning and purpose. When God gives a name to a person it usually signifies character, ability or mission. For instance, John Piper notes, “Adam names his wife Eve, because she is mother of all the living (Genesis 3:20). God changes Abram’s name to Abraham to show that he had made him the father of many nations (Genesis 17:5). God changed Sarai’s name to Sarah (Genesis 17:15). He changed Jacob’s name to Israel (Genesis 32:28). And when the Son of God came into the world, his name was not left to chance: “You shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.”
Take a look at other names the Bible mentions:
Abraham – Father of a multitude (Gen 17:5).
Abram – High father; exalted father (Gen 11:26).
Adam – Man; human being; red (color of the earth) (Gen 2:19).
Daniel — God is my judge (1 Ch. 3:l).
Esther — star (Es. 2:7).
Isaac — laughter (Gen 17:19).
Jesus — savior; Jehovah is salvation (Mat. 1:1).
Did you ever try to define the name of God? Well, Moses tried to ask God who he was and his answer was one like no other. Take a look at the verse below.
 
Exodus 3:13-15
 
Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’” God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘The Lord, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you’: this is my name for ever, and thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations.”
This passage recounts the Lord’s encounter with Moses at the burning bush. When God heard the cries of His people, he then appoints Moses to lead Israel out of Egypt. When Moses asked who is sending him, the Lord reveals himself as “I AM” (3:1–14).
Wiersbe explains God’s answer to Moses this way…
“What Moses asked was, “What does Your name mean? What kind of a God are You?” God explained that the name “I AM” or Jehovah is a dynamic name, based on the Hebrew verb “to be” or “to become.” He is the self-existent One who always was, always is, and always will be, the faithful and dependable God who calls Himself “I AM.” Centuries later, Jesus would take the name “I AM” and complete it: “I am the bread of life” (John 6:35), “I am the light of the world” (John 8:12), “I am the true vine” (John 15:1), and so on.” (Wiersbe, W. W.. Be Delivered. Page18. Colorado Springs, CO: Chariot Victor Pub. 1998)
When God names himself, it does not only describe who he is but it also reveals what he intends to do. When the Lord reveals himself to us, as we open ourselves to God, it allows us to know Him- his character, love, purpose, mission, and even his power. Knowing Him allows us to strengthen our faith and put our trust in Him. “And those who know your name put their trust in you.” (Psalm 9:10)
May the revelation of the GREAT I AM bring you closer to God as he uncovers the beauty of his character, the greatness of his power as we call on his name, and that through this your faith may be strengthened. As you continue to your devotions, below are the some of Jehovah’s many names.
•                Jehovah -The Lord – Exodus 6:2-3
•                Jehovah-Adon Kal Ha’arets- Lord of Earth – Josh 3:13
•                Jehovah-Bara – Lord Creator – Isaiah 40:28
•                Jehovah-Chatsahi – Lord my Strength – Psalm 27:1
•                Jehovah-Chereb – Lord the Sword – Deut. 33:29
•                Jehovah-Eli – Lord my God – Psalm 18:2
•                Jehovah-Elyon – Lord Most High – Psalm 38:2
•                Jehovah-Gador Milchamah – Mighty in Battle – Ps 24:8
•                Jehovah-Ganan – Lord Our Defense – Ps 89:18
•                Jehovah-Go’el – Lord My Redeemer – Is. 49:26, 60:16
•                Jehovah-Hamelech – Lord King – Psalm 98:6
•                Jehovah-Hashopet – Lord My Judge – Judges 11:27
•                Jehovah-Helech ‘Olam -Lord King Forever Ps10:16
•                Jehovah-Hoshe’ah – Lord Saves – Psalm 20:9
•                Jehovah-Jireh – Provider – Gen. 22:14, I John 4:9, Philip 4:19
•                Jehovah-Kabodhi – Lord my Glory – Psalm 3:3
•                Jehovah-Kanna – Lord Jealous – Ex 34:14
•                Jehovah-Keren-Yish’i – Horn of Salvation – Ps 18:2
•                Jehovah-M’Kaddesh – Sanctifier – I Corinthians 1:30
•                Jehovah-Machsi – Lord my Refuge – Psalm 91:9
•                Jehovah-Magen – Lord my Shield – Deut. 33:29
•                Jehovah-Ma’oz – Lord my Fortress – Jer. 16:19
•                Jehovah-Mephalti – Lord my Deliverer – Psalm 18:2
•                Jehovah-Metshodhathi – Lord my Fortress – Psalm 18:2
•                Jehovah-Misqabbi – Lord my High Tower – Psalm 18:2
•                Jehovah-M’gaddishcem – Lord my Sanctifier – Ex 31:13
•                Jehovah-Naheh – Lord who Smites – Ezekiel 7:9
•                Jehovah-Nissi – Banner – I Chronicles 29:11-13
•                Jehovah-Rohi – Shepherd – Psalm 23
•                Jehovah-Rophe – Healer – Isaiah 53:4,5
•                Jehovah-Sabaoth – Lord of Hosts – I Sam 1:3
•                Jehovah-Sel’i – Lord my Rock – Psalm 18:2
•                Jehovah-Shalom – Peace – Isaiah 9:6, Rom 8:31-35
•                Jehovah-Shammah – Present – Hebrews 13:5
•                Jehovah-Tsidkenu – Righteousness – I Cor 1:30
•                Jehovah-Tsori – Lord my Strength – Psalm 19:14
•                Jehovah-Yasha – Lord my Savior – Isaiah 49:26
•                Jehovah-‘Ez-Lami – Lord my Strength – Ps 28:7
•                Jehovah-‘Immeku – Lord Is With You – Judges 6:12
•                Jehovah-‘Izoa Hakaboth – Lord Strong -Mighty – Ps 24:8
                Jehovah-‘Ori – Lord my Light – Psalm 27:1
•                Jehovah-‘Uzam – Lord Strength in Trouble – Is 49:26
May you find encouragement in listening to this song entitled, “Great I Am” sang by Phillips, Craig & Dean.
 
Sources:
Leave a Reply

