Week 16: Thursday

Week16_Thurs
Psalms 24:1
“The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it.
The world and all its people belong to him.”
In relation to this Scripture, John Maxwell poses a thought-provoking question for us to ponder about as we wrap up this week’s theme of stewardship:
“If God owns it all, what am I doing with it?”
My TIME belongs to God.
My TALENTS belong to God.
My TREASURES – they are His.
He owns all that I have, all that I possess, all that is important to me.
But what am I choosing to do with them? Am I simply allowing them to WASTE away or have I decided to use them to WORK towards giving Him praise and glory each and every day?
We are reminded that stewards are those who are given responsibilities to protect, manage, and take care of something. Furthermore, stewards are expected to be faithful with that which has been entrusted to them; Paul mentions this in 1 Corinthians 4:1-2:
Let a man so account of us, as of the ministers of Christ, and stewards of the mysteries of God. Moreover it is required in stewards that a man be found faithful.
Paul knew that he was given a great trust of testifying, sharing, and most importantly, living out the Gospel. Filled with the Spirit of God, Paul desired to be faithful to the end even in the midst of hardship, trials, persecutions, and dry seasons. He considered his life worth nothing, aiming only to finish the race and complete the mission given to him by the Lord to testify the gospel of His grace(Acts 20:24).
In other words, Paul understood that God wanted complete surrender. It was when Paul considered his life worth nothing to him that he was truly able to give his everything to God.
Charles Spurgeon pointed out that stewards are servants that represent their great Masters.  When we embrace stewardship as a lifestyle, we respond to the call of living a life of faithfulness that should reflect the character of servanthood seen in Jesus Christ Himself:
Philippians 2:5-11
Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God,
did not regard equality with God
as something to be exploited, but emptied himself, taking the form of a slave,
being born in human likeness.
And being found in human form, he humbled himself
and became obedient to the point of death—even death on a cross.
Therefore God also highly exalted him
and gave him the name
that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus
every knee should bend, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue should confess
that Jesus Christ is Lord,
to the glory of God the Father.
Like Paul, we too have been given a great trust. What stewardship has the Lord entrusted to you?  What have you surrendered to God in order that you may give your all to Him today?
We must change our perspective in such a way as to acknowledge Him as the Source and Keeper of all things on a daily basis and not just occasionally when we feel like it. In the same way, we don’t just surrender our lives every now and then – it takes a daily commitment!
A song entitled “Lifesong” by Casting Crowns reminds us that all that we are – every word that we say, every act we do – is to be given as an offering to God.
Empty hands held high

Such small sacrifice

If not joined with my life

I sing in vain tonight
 
May the words I say

And the things I do

Make my lifesong sing

Bring a smile to You
 
CHORUS
Let my lifesong sing to You

Let my lifesong sing to You

I want to sign Your name

To the end of this day

Knowing that my heart was true

Let my lifesong sing to You
 
Lord, I give my life

A living sacrifice

To reach a world in need

To be Your hands and feet
 
So may the words I say

And the things I do

Make my lifesong sing

Bring a smile to You
 
REPEAT CHORUS
 
Hallelujah, Hallelujah,
Let my lifesong sing to You

Hallelujah, Hallelujah,
Let my lifesong sing to You

Hallelujah, Hallelujah,
Let my lifesong sing to You
 
REPEAT CHORUS x2
 
As we pray that our lifesongs sing in praise to God, may we continue to live our lives aspiring only to receive the approval of our great Master, to hear him speak these words when we reach the finish line… “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”
Leave a Reply

