WEEK 26 : MONDAY

WEEK 26 : MONDAY

Hebrews 12:1
…let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

Quote: You will never achieve what you are capable of if you’re too attached to things you’re supposed to let go of.
​Anonymous

Movement and growth are characteristics of life. When someone isn’t moving or growing for a long time he is as good as dead, so is being frozen. To become frozen is not good for you. As someone says, “Growth and change may be painful sometimes, but nothing in life is as painful as staying stuck where you don’t belong.” Being frozen is like being stuck up, no growth, no changes, no moving forward. A life of stagnancy- no more, no less.

Do you feel stuck up? Do you feel frozen? Well as the famous song in the movie “Frozen,” the principle we must learn in life so as to avoid getting frozen is to “let it go.” The practice of letting go is very crucial in every area of our lives.

The very first principle I learned at work was to invest on someone I could pass on what I’ve learned so that I will not be indispensable. It is to make sure the work will not suffer but will have its continuity. No one is indispensable. It’s the principle of letting go. It’s the understanding that continuity of the work needs investing time to prepare someone to take your post. Sometimes you wonder why aren’t you being promoted, why aren’t you able to move forward despite all the hard work. Perhaps you may have missed finding someone to train and pass on what you know so that you can move forward. God may want to move you up but you haven’t prepared for it. When Jesus came here on earth, his last three years were invested in preparing twelve people to continue his work before He ascended to heaven.

How can you move forward if you haven’t prepared for it? Sometimes we think we deserve to move up while we are holding too much in our position by not sharing it to others. Then when the time of promotion comes we wonder why we got stuck up. This is not only true at the workplace, it is also true in ministry. Our mindset should always have the readiness to look for someone to continue what we do so that when God wants to move us up, we will be ready.

Other reasons we get stuck in the position or situation we are in is because of fear, intimidation, selfishness and pride, and Hebrews 12 says, we have to throw these things off. We have to let them go. When you let them go make sure that there are no strings attached.

As taught in this illustration entitled “No Strings Attached” by Bob Perks

I wake up each morning feeling weary and beat up.

Each night as I thank God for all the wonderful prayers answered I feel full and alive. I feel hopeful. I feel that everything and everyone I prayed for already had been taken care of.

That’s my kind of faith. Gratefulness. Thanks in advance for all I believe God can and will do.

I let go.

Somewhere between the sweet peace of sleep and the rising of the sun things change.

In my awakening I am weighed down by what I had just laid to rest in the arms of God.

But, I let go.

Somehow, somewhere before dawn I must have picked them all back up again.

But, I thought I let go.

In a dream last night I discovered the answer.

I saw myself saying my prayers. I placed all of my thankfulness in God’s hands and suddenly in slow motion as I drew back from the image I could clearly see several threads running from his hands back to mine. For each item I had given him there was a string attached.

“But, I let go!” I said in my dream.

“You held on,” a voice said.

I looked again and sure enough each person, each worry, each disease or financial burden I turned over to God had a string attached to it.

I gave God the problem but in reality doubted the outcome.

I gave God my finances but held onto the fear of losing my home.

I gave God my family and thanked Him for healing all of their needs, but

thought deep in my heart little would change.

“What you put down and walk away from, you leave.” I heard.

I call myself a believer, but everything I give to God, I take back by the rising of the sun.

There are strings attached to my gratefulness and prayers of thanks.

“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but Yours be done” (Luke 22:42).

“Father, I place my life in Your hands!” (Luke 23:46).

I let go. No strings attached.

In Hebrews 12:1, “…let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,” it reminds us that God has prepared a race for every individual, so we have to be on the move in getting there. To be on the move means that we must consistently let go of the things that will cause us to get stuck. Having no strings attached requires us to trust the loving and living God.

What may cause us to get stuck or frozen? It could be a bad habit such as procrastination or making excuses; negative emotions such as unforgiveness, bitterness, resentment, fear, self-pity; attitudes such laziness, pride or having a secret life, dwelling on failures, or even our past, whatever it is let it go with no strings attached, so we won’t freeze! Simply let it go and let God move.

Leave a Reply

