Week 28: Day 5

Week28_Fri
Ephesians 5:20
And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.
We thought that the only reason we give thanks is when we receive something we liked or wished for. We thought that if we receive something like a gift or money, that it would be the only time we say “thank you.” But according to Ephesians 5:20,”And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” It was said to give thanks for EVERYTHING. Not just the good stuff or the good times. But sometimes bad things happens for a reason. Sometimes the Lord is teaching us something that we can learn and use for our future.Take for example Roy Campanella. He was one of the first African Americans to play in the US Baseball major league. In a distinguished career, he won the Brooklyn Dodgers Most Valued Player award many times, and in 1955 was in the team that won the World Series. And winning the World Series is not a joke. Sometimes it would take 5-10 years for a team to win the World Series. And Roy Campanella won one and a bunch of MVP’s

But in January 1958, his career was cut short after a car crash left him a quadriplegic. After he was injured, he spent a lot of time in the Institute of Physical medicine and Rehabilitation in New York City. One day, he stopped to read a gold plaque upon one of the walls, and for someone who had been blessed with such athletic gifts, it resonated deeply within him:

“I asked God for strength, that I might achieve.

I was made weak, that I might learn to humbly obey…

I asked for health that I might do great things.

I was given infirmity that might do better things…

I asked for riches that I might be happy,

I was given poverty that I might be wise…

I asked for power, that I might have the praise of others.

I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God…

I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life.

I was given life that I might enjoy all things…

I got nothing I asked for, but everything I had hoped for.

Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.

I am, among men, most richly blessed!”

We think  that if bad things happen to us, the Lord is punishing us or He doesn’t care about us. But sometimes, going through the hardships of life is a blessing from God that will help us become strong and stable and focused in the next coming parts of our journey here on earth.

Sources:
Leave a Reply

