Week 29: Monday

TozerQuote

Day 1:

“God wants worshippers before workers; indeed the only acceptable workers are those who have learned the lost art of worship.”A.W. Tozer“ 

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” -Mark 12:30

____________________________________________________________

Many Christians are stuck in the idea of worship mentioned in Psalm 100:2, “Worship the Lord with gladness;come before him with joyful songs.”

Many think that singing worship songs, memorizing perfectly the lines and raising the hands are all that it takes to worship God.

The word worship is etymologised as “worth-ship”. It means giving due worth. When we worship God, we give Him the worth that He deserves. Now the question is, “What is the Worth of God to us”?

When King David was asked to build an altar for the Lord, Araunah wanted to give everything that was needed for free. But king David said, “I will not take for the Lord what is yours, or sacrifice a burnt offering that costs me nothing.”(1 Chronicles 21:24).

King David himself was a worshiper of God by singing joyful songs. He was even seen dancing before the Lord (1 Samuel 6:14). But His kind of worship can be stretched to the point that it might hurt on his part. He did not just settle to singing and dancing as his worship to God, but his worship can be tested in good times or in bad.

What makes worship painful? It must cost us something. It must bring us to the point of struggle whether to choose the comfortable or to choose the painful.

As A.W. Tozer said, “God wants worshippers before workers; indeed the only acceptable workers are those who have learned the lost art of worship.”

Worship, Love and Obedience become one when used towards God.

We cannot truly worship God without loving and obeying Him.

We cannot truly love God without worshipping and obeying Him.

We cannot truly obey God without loving and worshipping him.

This brought me back to the time when I first fell in love with God. I still had a little and a shallow understanding of the love that I felt for Him. So my understanding of worshipping Him was just enough to sing songs of worship, memorizing the lines and raising my hands in the air. And my life then had not totally changed. Obedience then for me was more of an obligation.

 

When I have grown deeper in my intimacy with Him and have loved Him more, I found myself desiring to worship Him in spirit and in truth by not just singing songs and raising hands but by the life that is changed for His glory. And I realized at this moment that obeying Him is an honor and not just a mere obligation because I love Him. And my obedience is just the result of my love for Him and the evidence of my worship.

 

This will take us to the first and the greatest commandment of all, “ Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” (Mark 12:30)

 

Leave a Reply

