WEEK 31 : Thursday

image

WORSHIP


Isaiah 49:16 (NIV)
16 See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands…

Psalms 139:13-14 (NIV)
13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Oh God, I have tasted your goodness, and it has both satisfied me and made me thirsty for more. – A. W. Tozer

INTERNET DEVOTION
I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life is in His hands
I have a Father
He calls me His own
He’ll never leave me
No matter where I go
He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And hears me when I call
“He Knows My Name” is a song that was written by Tommy Walker in 1996. The song was a result of simply trying to be faithful in doing his job. He is a composer of worship songs.
When his pastor asked him to write this, there was no special inspiration that came with it. It was just a matter of discipline of writing. And since it was part of his job, he gave it a shot. When it was finished, he felt that it was just a song that kids would enjoy.
But after a few months, when people at church began singing it and making it as their own, a sense of love coming down from God would fill the people’s heart as they worship. People began to weep and Tommy would weep as well. It is as if God was saying, “Tommy, I know your name too!”
Later on Tommy reflected that sometimes we really don’t need a brand new inspiration of “thunder and lightning” when it comes to knowing God. All we need is faithfulness in small things that God asks of us, to have the discipline to finish the task no matter how “small” that would be. They may be ordinary things but when God would use it as his tool to bless, you will be simply amazed at what God can do [The whole story is in his book that bears the same title, He Knows My Name].
God made each one of us and he calls us “by name”. He does not need anything but he desires bless and love. And God placed in our hearts an urge that spurs us to pursue him [Tozer, The Pursuit of God].
God has made us to be like a compass needle. It always seek the magnetic north. It is calling the compass to turn to the north always.

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And hears me when I call.

Leave a Reply

