WEEK 39: Tuesday — Dreaming Through Nightmares

W39D2 FrostQuote
DAY 2

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

– Robert Frost 


When Joseph was taken to Egypt by the Ishmaelite traders, he was purchased by Potiphar, an Egyptian officer. Potiphar was captain of the guard for Pharaoh, the king of Egypt.

Genesis 39:1

Michael Oher did not have a great start. His father spent most of the time in prison. His mother was an addict. There were 12 siblings in all, who were spread into foster homes or, together living in horrible circumstances of hunger and discomfort. His hometown, Hurt Village, had two prominent paths for the young – death or prison. Oher was against all odds – but the dream to overcome those prevailed.

In his book, I Beat the Odds: From Homelessness to the Blind Side, Oher recounts his decision-making through it all: “Instead of getting caught up with what was right in front of me, I always seemed to have my eyes on WHAT WAS AHEAD.” 

Taking a page from Joseph’s playbook, Oher beat the odds by learning how to pick his battles – to focus on the dream, and to discard all distractions. This led to diligence in school, saving money for a rainy day and a college fund, and making the most of every opportunity – ALL in pursuit of a dream.

Once a dream captivates you, every move you make impacts that dream to happen. Or not. For Joseph and Oher, probably the question for every fork in the road was: is it worth trading the ULTIMATE for the IMMEDIATE?

IF YOU WERE JOSEPH, imagine what hangs in the balance!

Oher concludes his book:

            I always felt as a kid that God had something special planned for my life. Now I know what it was. It wasn’t to make me a professional athlete; it was to make me             a role model for kids who, like me, are missing that person in their lives. He        wanted to use me to show the world anybody can be successful, no matter who        they are or what their history is. But I had to TRUST in that plan and be an     active, real part of making it happen. I had to believe that it was possible even   when it seemed it wasn’t, and work for it even when it seemed pointless.

 

            I DID, and I think that’s what made the difference. 

Have you made the better choice?

Leave a Reply

