Week 46: Wednesday – Force of Life

ChanelQuote

Older And Wiser!

 

“Nature gives you the face you have at twenty;

it is up to you to merit the face you have at fifty.”

Coco Chanel

 

Psalm 92 (NCV)

12        But good people will grow like palm trees;

they will be tall like the cedars of Lebanon.

13        Like trees planted in the Temple of the Lord,

they will grow strong in the courtyards of our God.

14        When they are old, they will still produce fruit;

they will be healthy and fresh.

15        They will say that the Lord is good.

He is my Rock, and there is no wrong in him.

 

 

In one of my walks, I passed by a big, nice house with an old man tending the garden. I said hello. He greeted back with a wave.

That was the first of many others. Sometimes, with a little more time in my hands for chitchats, we talk about  food, migration, work, family. Just about anything. I began to call him uncle and his wife auntie.

I always comment how beautiful his garden is. And to this, his only answer remains the same:

“Just to kill the time!” And with that a frowning face, a grimace actually, as if he’s in a lot of pain for not knowing what to do with what’s left of his life.

 

He mentioned one time how miserable he is. Worked since he was 17 and now he’s in his 80s, and hasn’t enjoyed much. His only child lives far away and seldom visits with his family. And all he has left to do everyday is tend his garden.  “Just to kill the time.” He then went on to advice me to enjoy life while young. His wife said, “It’s good you don’t drive because if you do, nobody will talk to us.”

Now that made me really sad.

 

When I am older, I want to be a fountain of wisdom for the young. I want them to enjoy talking to me because I have so much to give.

That when they talk to me, THEY WON’T FEAR OF GROWING OLD. That at the end of every moment with me, their dreams affirmed, their energy reinvigorated.

That’s why TODAY,  I am preparing myself to be a STURDY Narra Tree someday, beautifully aged by the moonsoon rains and scorching sun. People are afraid to be old. They worship youthfulness. This, again, is one of  the many repulsive dictates of our present society so devoid of depth and substance. NOBODY ESCAPES TIME. Only the dead. Even their corpses are subject to decay brought about by time.

 

Think about it. Are you just waiting for the grave?

Or is life just eating and drinking and merry-making?

A FORCE OF LIFE is like a fine, AGED WINE. The older it is, the higher its value.

 

Samuel Ullman said:

 

“Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind;

it is not a matter of rosy cheeks, red lips and supple knees;

it is a matter of the will, a quality of the imagination,

a vigor of the emotions;

it is the freshness of the deep springs of life.”

 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-dlhUm4VBk

Leave a Reply

